February 5, 2015

Published 2/05/2015 by Ad-Vinylrecords with 0 comment

Crack Of Dawn - It´s Alright (This Feeling) b/w I Can´t Move No Mountains (1976) - single

Crack Of Dawn were an R & B/funk outfit who were quite popular in the live dance clubs. The band was formed in Kingston, Jamaica by natives Grant Gabriel, Trevor Daley, Rupert Harvey, Mark Smith & Alvin Jones. Grant Gabriel’s sister, Jackie, originally sang for the group. They relocated from Jamaica to Toronto, Ontario in the mid-70's and rehearsed in Gabriel's basement. Glenn Ricketts and Carl Harvey came soon after as they began to make their way in the Toronto club scene. In 1975 the band attracted interest from Columbia Records and were the first Canadian black band to ever sign with a major label. Smith was replaced by Andre King a year into their recording contract with Columbia.
Columbia Records released one LP and four singles including the Chuck Jackson written "It's Alright" which went to No.42 nationally in the spring of 1976.

A - It´s Alright (This Feeling)  (2:38)
Written-by: C. Jackson, M. Yancy / Produced-by: Bob Gallo
B - I Can´t Move No Mountains  (2:29)
Written-by: Robert John, Michael Gately / Produced-by: Bob Gallo

Label:  CBS Records
Genre:  Soul, Disco
Catalog#  4395

(P) 1976

0 reacties:

Post a Comment